Just one ordinary mom , just one ordinary day

Welcome to our life

I know that I am not super mom ( time management)

on February 17, 2013

Hey everyone !
Wow I know it’s been a few weeks . It been crazy hectic around here! I guess that’s another part of having five kids. You often don’t have enough time to slow down to stop and smell the roses. Maybe just glance think to your self how pretty they are but not long enough to smell them .
That’s what today’s post is a about . Time management.
Being honest I am horrible at it and super great at it all the same time . I am great at setting the alarm for school and making sure we are all up and at it when we need to be but I always seem to have to rush the last fifteen minutes because I dawdled about doing things. It’s not that I don’t give my self enough time ,in fact I probably give myself to much time .
That’s the reason the I go about things slowly , I think that because I have given myself enough time there is still some left until I look at the clock and realize that I only have ten minutes to get all this stuff around .
So that is what I have been working on the last week . Readjusting myself to get better with time. Ad motherly I feel like I haven’t got it yet but my kids seem to be responding better.
The reason I adjusted was M and N were starting to get frustrated the last ten minutes the pressure I put on them was causing more meltdowns which was spiralling things out of control. We were barely making out on time to catch the bus .
So I have implemented a warning system which I set another alarm warning me that I have only 20 minutes left . At that point I tell the kids to finish breakfast they have five minutes , then I leave it at that. Five minutes later the snooze button goes off on the alarm . At that point I tell them they have to finish now and go brush their teeth . The snooze button goes off five minutes later and I tell them to get all their gear on for school and then we head out the door.
At first it was met with a lot of resistance but then once they hear the alarm they know its time to switch and they are ready for it because of the verbal warning . Now they just follow the routine and I am not scrambling as much although I myself can’t seem to have everything ready for them . I need my morning coffee ya know.
Time management can be hard . Especially when you have a million and one things going on .
This explains a lot of what happens in my house.

20130217-225224.jpg
This is my life. I have such a hard time staying on task because I get side tracked by a million other little things that I have to do . If I manage my time and stay on task I would feel. Lot more accomplished. So I have been trying but old habits are super hard to break . This one is taking a little more time to get the hang of . I just keep getting side tracked and well I am not managing my time in a way that is productive.
So new plan . I am going to make a very detailed schedule with times included. If one time is not realistic then I will tweak it to what it should be. Eg 20minutes to clean the bathroom may not be enough time so then I would add another ten minutes but if its only taking fifteen then I need to tweak it so that I can fit a job like folding laundry in that time slot. I am hoping that if I time myself it will get me motivated to finish the task that I have started.
I know that I am not super mom but I have to try right .

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Tabbi Marie

"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds. "

Neverland

the place where no one grows old, where a crocodile has a ticking clock in its stomach and where the stars are only map you need. :: second to the right, and straight on till morning.

lgbticons

Celebrating LGBT people of achievement

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

loving lemonade.

hey life, bring on the lemons!

Magic in the Backyard

Official Blog of Author Kellie Elmore

Grace For My Journey

Life inside a grace-filled home! Faith - Family - Homeschooling

murphjenn

A great WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Jennifer Marie Photography

My Photography Journey

