Just one ordinary mom , just one ordinary day

Welcome to our life

My it girl

on January 17, 2013

My sister-in-law and I are very close. She really is the sister I never had. (I am from a family of six and happen to be the only girl but that’s another story for another day .) I love my SIL very much, we are two very different minded people with the a lot of the same goals.
We are both stay at home moms who dedicate our day to caring for our homes and families. W both want and strive in our own ways to serve the LORD. We both enjoy reading and being creative and let’s not forget our love of coffee. We both have sarcastic sense of humour and can both be abrasive at times . That’s about as far as our similarities go .
Yet we have a friendship that works . We weren’t always friends. Our difference made us both feel like outsiders to each other. I always felt like I was being put down by her sarcasm and witty comments made in jest. My problem was I was wrapped up in how I thought people saw me that I never actually took the time to think otherwise. She on the other hand didn’t know me and wasn’t sure how to gage me. The mental and physical state that I was sensitive and rather then ask me fifty million questions she gave me my space and was try to respect my issues . I always gave her the signal that I was not interested in getting to know her but more interested in getting my life straightened out. Which she was right in most ways
I can’t remember exactly when we started talking but I do know that it started with a simple phone call about something and turned into a two hour conversation . Now we talk almost everyday . If I don’t call I am being teased on Facebook that her dishes are still calling and that I thrown her schedule out of whack. If she has not called because she can’t I’ll tease her that my dishes still aren’t done and that the laundry is call her name to help me fold it .
As I mentioned above we talk every morning . It’s a part of our routine. We help each other take our minds off of the wily grind of house work and chat .
Often we talk about things we have seen or heard and what’s going on in our life’s but we also talk about deeper issues. This is where our difference work for us . I love to bounce things off her . She always come back with an honest answer and I can never know what she is going to say because she thinks so differently then I do . It also works vice versa.
On the other side of the token sometimes I tell her things not expecting to hear what I want to hear but hear something that makes me feel like she isn’t understanding what I a trying to get across. This is the most challenging part of our relationship for me . There are very few topic in which I feel hesitant to talk about . I do keep talking about them even though it sometimes is uncomfortable because some of these issues are dear to my heart and there have been times where I may not agree with what was said but I can see her point perspective.
Having a relationship with my SIL has strengthened me , encouraged me and has been my ingest ally .
We all need someone like this in our life. Someone who holds us accountable, who helps us through the good and the bad . Someone who is not afraid to be honest with you and yet still love you when you screw up. Someone who expects you to do all these thing back to them when they need it .
She’s my it girl , whose yours?

4 responses to “My it girl

  1. EliJ says:

    You are,,,

  2. tabbimarie13 says:

    My grandma is my it girl<3

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Tabbi Marie

"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds. "

Neverland

the place where no one grows old, where a crocodile has a ticking clock in its stomach and where the stars are only map you need. :: second to the right, and straight on till morning.

lgbticons

Celebrating LGBT people of achievement

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

loving lemonade.

hey life, bring on the lemons!

Magic in the Backyard

Official Blog of Author Kellie Elmore

Grace For My Journey

Life inside a grace-filled home! Faith - Family - Homeschooling

murphjenn

A great WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Jennifer Marie Photography

My Photography Journey

