Just one ordinary mom , just one ordinary day

Welcome to our life

Monkey see, Monkey do

on January 6, 2013

20130106-223900.jpg

20130106-223912.jpg

“oh be careful little eyes what you see, oh be careful little eyes what you see , for the father up above is looking down in love oh be careful little eyes what you see.
Oh be careful little ears what you hear , oh be careful little ears what you hear for the father up above is looking down in love oh be careful little ears what you hear.
Oh be careful little mouth what you say , oh be careful little mouth what you say, for the father up above is looking down in love oh be careful little mouth what you say.
Oh be care full little hands what you do , oh be careful little hands what you do , for the father up above is looking down in love of be careful little hands what you do .
Oh be careful little feet where you go , oh be careful little feet where you go , for the father up above is looking down in love oh be careful little feet where you go “

20130106-224626.jpg

20130106-224645.jpg

This is such a simple song and yet it speaks such great truths . Casting crowns does a song called “slow fade” that uses this song as is basis. I love both songs . They are such a great reminder of how we act our children are sure to follow.
I like to talk to my sister-in-law on the phone in the mornings while we both get simple house work done . It takes your mind of the monotony of your chores. One thing I always do in the morning is dial the number, make my second cup of coffee, and then start the breakfast dishes. I never really realized how my kids saw me until one day N, Z and M were playing house.
We have a kitchen set and at that time a table and chairs. They started out by making coffee , then N who was playing mom picked up the toy phone and was pretending to talk . She cleared off the dishes they had set out on their play table and pretended to wash the dishes .

It was then that I saw how my children view me .

20130106-225351.jpg

My children were copying exactly what I do everyday . I often hear phrases or words that I say when my children play . This year in school N had to do a little blurb on herself . She said how many siblings and what her favourite colour is. At the end she said when she grew up that she wanted to be a mom.
If you ask a small child what they want to be they often want to be a police man , firefighter or whatever their dad is .
They look up to us . They want to be like us . That scares me , I am not a perfect parent and I will never say that I am . They way this child is going to turn out is going to be by the example I set for them .

20130106-225806.jpg

20130106-225817.jpg
We are the example, our children will turn out to be mini us. All we can do is encourage and set a good example of what we can be. It takes a lot of prayers and patience . When you look at your child and the way they act you really are looking at a more raw version of yourself. Children call it as they see. You can learn a lot from your children when you look at them through their eyes, ears, mouth , hands and feet. You know they old saying “Monkey see, Monkey do “.
May we always be diligent in making sure the way we present ourself is the way we want our children to . We can not expect them do as we say but not as we do .
I always keep this close to my heart especially since I know how I struggle . I want to be the best model I can for my children. When I look at my children I want to see the love of God shinning through them , so when they look at me they need to see the love of God shinning through me .

God bless
E

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Tabbi Marie

"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds. "

Neverland

the place where no one grows old, where a crocodile has a ticking clock in its stomach and where the stars are only map you need. :: second to the right, and straight on till morning.

lgbticons

Celebrating LGBT people of achievement

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

1pointperspective

NOT just another WordPress.com site

loving lemonade.

hey life, bring on the lemons!

Magic in the Backyard

Official Blog of Author Kellie Elmore

Grace For My Journey

Life inside a grace-filled home! Faith - Family - Homeschooling

murphjenn

A great WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Nonsense to Mom's Sense (of Humor)

How life as a stand-up comic prepared me for motherhood

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Jennifer Marie Photography

My Photography Journey

